Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

An End Has A Start

So, here we are at the start of it all. The big leap into a ridiculous and most likely unattainable goal: Landing the role of Kate in the Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn. (See The Goal page for the quick details.)

Now don’t you go thinking I’m unaware of the unlikely nature of actually getting cast as the part of Kate. Besides the obvious (my lack of acting resume), there’s no guarantee they’ll even put the role in the film, if they even make the film(s). I’m not sure how they wouldn’t make the film(s), but one never knows. Money always plays a key role, and the Twi-Trinity (leads Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, and Taylor Lautner) will certainly demand quite a few more dollars if a part 2 is made, as it’s not written into their original four-film contracts.

There are other challenges too, like where they will film it. I’m hoping for Portland instead of Vancouver. I don’t have a work permit in Canada, and from what I’ve read they’re not easy to get. I’m legal to work in the United States. Plus I live in Portland, which makes things quite a bit easier. Heck, if all else fails and they film it in Portland, perhaps I can be an extra. But that’s not the goal. The goal is to play the role of Kate.

How did I get started on this lofty idea? Follow the cut to find out.

When reading Stephenie Meyer’s Breaking Dawn, I really identified with Kate’s character. She’s one cool cat with an adventurous spirit and a wicked supernatural power—she can electrocute people. I thought that it’d be fun to play her in the film whenever it was made. I didn’t think on it much more than that. Then I started to mention the idea to my friends who like Twilight. They thought it was perhaps the best idea to ever happen. Okay, that’s an exaggeration. I’m pretty sure they think the best idea to ever happen was Robert Pattinson being cast as Edward Cullen, or Chris Weitz (director, New Moon) forcing Taylor Lautner (Jacob Black) to gain 30 lbs of solid muscle. But I digress…

So, with peer pressure in hand, I gave it a real think over. Then I stumbled upon this interview on FearNET with Charlie Bewley (Volturi guard, Demetri). To paraphrase the elusive ex-pat, he was sat on Whistler in British Columbia examining his past, present, and future and it occurred to him that he should act. He then went down to Vancouver, started acting in random bits, found an agent (because that’s so easy to do), and voilà landed the role of Demetri in New Moon, and consequently Eclipse. Obviously it took quite a bit more effort than his four-sentence response portrays, and that’s what I’m planning to show here. But right then, closing the fear.net tab on my browser, I thought to myself, “If Charlie Bewley can do it, so can I.”

And here I go.

-Lorena

(Thank you Charlie, wherever you are [most likely not reading this blog], for the inspiration and also for inadvertently leading me to Jules. He’s not only pretty rad, but he also unwittingly helped me through a hard time this December.)

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Beginnings

11 Comments »

  1. As for the part of Kate… I’m
    going to read Breaking Dawn again and picture you as Kate to do my part. I pictured Jane as Dakota (a younger version) before she was ever cast and wallah! It happened. (I also pictured Renesme as Suri Cruise, but I digress).

    Hey does my avi of Rob licking your blog hurt or help your chances?

    Good work and good luck!

    Xylem

    Comment by Xylem | January 2, 2010 | Reply

    • You could never hurt my blog :) Fans are fans, no? Anyway, it’s not my fault that the blog background tastes like schnozberries.

      Comment by lorenagay | January 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I pictured Renneesseeemmmeee as this girl who played ‘Curly Sue’.

      http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101635/

      Comment by lapushbaby | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. I can’t tell you how many times I stop in my day and say, hey if Charlie Bewley can do it, then so can I!!

    I hate when people say this, but I really mean it, “You go, Girl!” And when you achieve your goal of becoming Kate, they will make a movie about you and your blog, no seriously!! Can I offer my daughter to play a young you in the movie? You know, like in flashbacks? I love a great “I set a goal and didn’t stop until I achieved it” story, I’ll be waiting for your updates.

    :-)

    Comment by lapushbaby | January 2, 2010 | Reply

    • How about my new Yorkie avi? You like? His hair is particularly excellent in that shot.

      Comment by lapushbaby | January 2, 2010 | Reply

      • yeah, I dig it. Chon will be proud.

        Comment by lorenagay | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. GO, GO, GO, GO, GO!!!!!!!

    Comment by lovemesomecullens | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. From this day forward, I pledge to say a little prayer for you and that this goal will become a reality. It’s really no big thing as I’ll just add in an extra few lines while I pray for Rob to marry me.

    In all sincerity, good luck…it’s gonna be fun reading about your adventure!

    Comment by Kendall | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. Good luck!! Love my sis!!!!!

    Comment by GriffsSayWhat | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. My-my… i must say that i am impressed. Mmm-hmm.

    Comment by ambushed by twilight | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

