Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

Oh, the tangled webs we weave

As with all industries, especially creative industries, networking is essential to landing work. Thankfully, I’ve already got a small push in that direction. Even though I’ve only been in Portland for a measly six months, I’ve managed to find an amazing friend, Trisha, who happens to be an actor for a living. As my only female friend here, she truly has been a lifesaver. An enthusiast of my idea, she has been 100% supportive. She even coined what I’m doing as an actventure. Now I just need to meet all her actor friends.

Also on the list is my wonderful boyfriend, Bob, sports television producer extraordinaire and owner of Green Cat Creative (website’s under construction). His storytelling abilities are exceptional and he knows plenty of people in town in TV. Which will come in handy when I finish writing my screenplay and have Bob produce it.

Screenplay? Learn more after the cut.

So, I’ve decided to write a short. Mostly so I can play the lead and get some immediate acting experience to throw on the résumé. I see no shame in this. I’m gauging it to be about 10 minutes. I took a screenwriting course in college, so I’m not really grasping around completely in the dark on this one. Plus writing is what I do for a living, so, at the very least I can add this to the mix of things I’ve written. Speaking of such things, hoping to get this little ole blog picked up as a column. Just putting it out there. I have readers! They will follow me to your site and click on your advert links! :)

Once the film is shot and posted, I’m planning to submit it to the festival circuit, because, well, why not? It’s a comedy, and people like comedies. Plus there’s a ton of film festivals up here in the Pacific Northwest, so the likeliness of at one of them needing content is fairly high. If we win something, then I get SAG points (I think, will need to ask Trisha for clarification). And maybe Writers Guild points, or however that works. Will have to consult my screenwriter friend on that one.

Head shots are happening later this week with Bob’s friend who is a professional photographer, Jon Painter.

-Lorena

December 8, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Once it gets done, i hope to see it! Oh if only i lived closer… i’d apply to have a role in it… sigh…

    Comment by ambushed by twilight | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

