Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

Sorry for the M.I.A. (not the music group)

Hello, hello! Sorry I’ve been missing in action. My visitor stats are down to 1 person today (thanks, sis!). I have a major deadline tomorrow for the contract I’m working so I’ve been putting in a lot of hours, which doesn’t mean I haven’t had time to write. It means that I haven’t had to time to do any work towards my fledgling acting career to actually write about. Most unfortunate.

On the bright side of things, I’ve been non-stop rocking out to Tegan and Sara and The Faint via lala.com, and I discovered Ritz toasted chips and Welch’s passion fruit juice. Oh, and I’m getting a paycheck again. All great things. But let’s get down to business and talk about all the website databases you have to sign up for when you’re trying to get acting gigs (notably paid ones).

So, I mentioned before extrasonly.com, but now I know of more. In the Pacific Northwest there are four main casting directors: Lana Veenker, Danny Stoltz, Simon Max Hill, and Denise Gibbs (who casts mostly Seattle). They’ve got some great credits to their names, too. Notably Twilight, Extraordinary Measures, Untraceable, Into the Wild, Coraline, Leverage (TV), and the list just goes on and on.

Veenker, Stoltz, and Gibbs all run extras website databases you can put yourself on.

It’s all a pretty simple sign up process, some longer than others. Extras Only forces you to take their policies test, which is a little long for a website, but it offers some decent info for newbies like me. Say Rutabaga also has great resources for what’s expected of you and what to expect on set as an extra.

Extras Only charges a fee for their web database membership, which I am not paying and thus not joining. But I’m still in the basic database. No need to shell out money, hint hint, Danny. That’s sort of like paying to join careerbuilder…

Craigslist has also been noted as a location to get reputable extra gigs in Hollywood films. So, who knows what I will stumble upon there.

That’s the scoop for extras and some casting in the PacNW (excluding Vancouver, BC, of course). We’ll see what it yields.

In the meantime, I let the Pull Stop director know I wouldn’t be able to make the audition, and I’m not going to contact the Vengeance coordinator because another major deadline in my contract job falls after the weekend they are shooting my scene. So, there’s no way I’ll be able to do both since it’s a longer scene with fighting in it. It’s all very sad. No response on the other films I applied for. I’ve decided not to look for more audition opportunities until closer to my return date to Portland. No point in attempting to get an audition I can’t attend and then looking ridiculous and unprofessional by cancelling.

-Lorena

Think I’ll have Breaking It Down: Chapter 2 of Caine’s book up tomorrow. So pop by if you’re interested.

January 17, 2010 - Posted by | Gigs, Observations | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Girl, this is all so awesome!! I really hope you get the part if Kate, that would be way cool! Good luck with everything :D

    Comment by Jayde | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. it IS a shame about you movie opps falling through, but until you become a big-bad-PAID-actor we all know the “paying” gigs hafta take priority. you don’t wanna be a “starving artist”, right?! oh and i have been checking this site pretty much at least one a day except on the weekends… so you have at least 2 regular readers! STAY DEDICATED!!!

    Comment by ambushed by twilight | January 18, 2010 | Reply

    • You’re so sweet! :) And you’ll be proud to know that no cussing resolution has been going really well! Not only am I using other words instead, I’m realizing that I don’t need to use the entire extra word at all to emphasize my point. Just use my voice’s intonation!

      I will stay dedicated.

      Oh, and I’m already a “starving artist” for my writing ;) Hoping Ken Kabatoff will throw me a bone once I put out a top notch screenplay. heh. I realize you have not idea who he is. Oh well.

      Comment by lorenagay | January 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

