Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

And… We’re Back!

What a hiatus! Sorry about that. I’m finally back home to the overcast PacNW. It’s fabulous. Best weather in the world. And I’m not being sarcastic.

So, with my return comes unemployment, which means lots of free time. Instead of wallowing about, I’m taking full advantage. Free time = freelancing. My creative writing has been revisited, including my script. I’m also tapping back into my travel writing. But what am I droning on about? Free time also equals an open schedule for acting! I’m back on the prowl for features, shorts, commercials, and even modeling. So what’s opening up for me? Find out after the cut.

I was submitted for an emergency fill when an extra had a maybe cancel on the Seattle-based full budget feature film, Late Autumn. A paid gig, no less. I didn’t get it, but it was still nice to know I was submitted. Only after did I learn that the leads were Asian superstars Tang Wei (China) and Hyun Bin (S. Korea). Seriously?! They are hoping to premiere the film at Cannes. Again, seriously?! How great would that have been? It wraps this week, so no more potential opportunities. Oh well.

Today I was asked my availability as an extra on Leverage, the TNT show shot here in town. That’s actually my ideal extra gig. Plus they said it could be a reoccurring role. Paid. I could deal with that. ;) So, we’re really fingers crossed that I get it. It’s cast by Lana Veenker, who, as we know, casted the original Twilight. That doesn’t mean she’ll cast Breaking Dawn, but hey, never a bad thing to have a credit for one of the productions she casts on my résumé. We shall see. Don’t want to get too excited. Things never seem to go through when you get too excited.

Other interesting things:

Two features with low/no budgets are set to shoot in late March and in May respectively. The March one is a horror film, which would be a lot of fun. I’d probably be an extra on it as the females are already cast, but there’s a promise of potential blood and guts spewing from me or perhaps a line or two (or hopefully both!). The May one is an indie flick, a comedy/drama. It’s mostly cast except a few male roles and one middle age female. Oh well. The director promises some featured extra roles though, which I can always be happy about. The director’s also saying it’s a SAG and nonSAG production, not sure what that means exactly besides the obvious that they’re using some SAG actors. But I’m not supposed to worry about that, remember? So, I’m not worrying.

I’m also looking at doing some modeling. Mostly for the money, but hey, never hurts. I’m a few inches short for runway, so I’ll be looking at lifestyle and commercial modeling. I don’t need to be a superstar though, so that’s fine by me.

All in all it’s looking like a potentially good spring.

-Lorena

March 4, 2010 - Posted by | Gigs, Production, Screenplay | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. well that sounds WONderful! you’ve been missed… i hope it all goes well!

    Comment by ambushed by twilight | March 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, ambushed! :) I hope it all goes well too.

      Comment by lorenagay | March 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

