Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

Cold With A Chance of Reading

Okay, super lame title today, but I’m feeling chilly and I have another audition tomorrow that is, you guessed it, a cold reading. It’s my first cold reading audition (I know I’ve only been to one audition, but I did prepare for that other audition as the developmentally delayed character despite not actually going to it). Let’s just say I’m really nervous.

More after the cut.

The ad listed it as a black comedy feature and then explained that the character I’m auditioning for ‘says really dark things’. I’m not really sure what all that means. Who knows, but they slotted me in for an audition and the casting director wrote in the email to me that he thought I might be the right person for the part. Trisha did say landing a gig can be mostly based on your look matching their vision for how the character looks. We’ll see. All mysteries will be solved tomorrow afternoon! The character is supposed to run a space station, which sounds fun, right?

Without further ado, I’m off to go soak up as much of Glenn Alterman’s Secrets To Successful Cold Readings as possible.

-Lorena

March 9, 2010 - Posted by | Auditions, Gigs, Secrets To Successful Cold Readings by Glenn Alterman | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. this may sound dumb but do they mean black as in African-American or black as in a dark comedy? I guess I dont really know what “black comedy feature” is?

    Comment by Rachel B | March 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Yeah, I don’t know, either.

      Comment by lorenagay | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. I could see you saying really dark things in a sinister way…

    Comment by Jon P | March 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. Surely they meant “black comedy” as in dark. I typically like these kind of stories. It’s where the topic is something taboo or something that shouldn’t be funny, but it’s portrayed in a way that is.

    Now the real question is why does the director think you are the right fit for a space station employee who says really dark things? ha!

    Comment by Ang | March 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

