Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

Mama Said There’d Be Days Like This

I’m back from my audition and I’m at a loss for words. First, let’s say two things: 1) I didn’t actually audition 2) He’d already cast the role (you know, the one he said I was perfect for).

I’m going to recount some of the experience to you, but first I need to give you a brief look at some of my personal history. I know I never get personal on here, which is intentional, but today it is absolutely necessary. Why? I don’t want you to miss what a fantastic experience I had today. I want you to be able to relate in some way. I wish you all could’ve been there and we could’ve grabbed coffee afterward and laughed together. If it seems like I’m sounding pretentious or something like that, good. Let’s get into that frame of mind. ::wink wink::

In college I was in a sorority, but most people who met me were quite surprised by that. Probably because I ate Hare Krishna lunch on the quad and sometimes walked around barefoot in thrift store clothes. I had somewhat of a split identity because I wanted to fit in with both groups, the quad and the sorority (to be clear, I wasn’t part of the Hare Krishnas, I just ate their food for lunch). The quad people were very bohemian, which is sort of an outdated term, I guess indie/hipster/bum/hippies would be the best way to describe them. I really wanted to be one of them, since my high school days even, but they just weren’t people my mom would’ve approved of me hanging out with. So I never could fully immerse myself. My mom, however, strongly encouraged me to join the sorority. This is not because she’s some crazy sorority-loving rich snobby person (she’s actually quite the opposite of that, as anyone who’s met her can attest to, and she reads this blog–hi mom!), but because it was a really positive experience for my sister. My mom saw that and thought it’d be good for her other daughter, too. Plus she thought I needed to get along with girls better (which was true). So, there I was, unable to fully become part of either world.

The quad people were actually sort of judgmental and rejecting of me because I wasn’t entirely like them, I was too commercial. The sorority was not judgmental at all. So I came to resent the quad people in a way, not actual people themselves, but that sort of, well, what I like to call “essence of being”*. That existentialism mingled with eastern philosophy flirting with some inner need for social activism. It’s very Dharma Bums seen from a literary critic point of view.

Anyway, I walked into my audition today expecting to do a cold reading, completely flop it up, and then laugh about it later on the blog. Instead I walked into my audition, someone else was already auditioning for a different role. When he was done the director met me and immediately I knew, he was a quad person. I shuddered inside, plastered a smile on my face, and thought, “Let’s do this!”

And we did. I asked what his script was about, and I’m not sure I could even tell you, even now, after 30 minutes of explanation, after reading part of it. Something about time travel, monsters, and global disaster bringing together all cultures. Something about combining trite overdone themes and doing them in a completely new way. I kept smiling and nodding. At one point he was explaining how the characters are such that if you were eavesdropping on them in a cafe, once they walked away you’d say to your friend, “Did that really just happen? Was that real?” Which was precisely how I felt about the whole audition (if we can call it that). The irony of it was priceless. I logged him in my notes as a fun character for a book, or script.

So, I got a part in the film. You didn’t see that coming…nor did I. But it happened almost immediately. He decided he really wanted to work with me and that I had that “something” and then he told me what part I’d be playing. Filming is in July. So, I suppose that quad essence from before is still there lingering on in me, or I’m just a really good real life actor. ::laughs::

Oh em gee, I’m in an “art” film that could never be called that because it’s so much more.

-Lorena

*Sorry to use the phrase, Cory.

March 10, 2010 - Posted by | Auditions, Observations | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. So, do you think it’s likely this film is going to suck, or not?

    Comment by Matt | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. Congrats :)

    Comment by Lindsay | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. I.Love.This.Post.

    awwweeesome! and congrats!!!

    hi mom!!!!

    (not really feelin capitalization today)

    Comment by Rachel B | March 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Rachel!

      Comment by Mom | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. ohmigosh. I just read the title. made the think of a song that starts “momma said….”

    Comment by Rachel B | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. HI ลลนา!

    AND

    SAY HI TO YOUR MOM TOO.

    Comment by who killed bambi | March 12, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m late reading this…but how cool! Congrats. At least it sounds like the film will be interesting.

    “Let’s do this!” – Yeah, I noticed that. :-)

    Comment by Ang | March 13, 2010 | Reply

  7. Awesomesauce!

    PS – Hi Lorena’s mom :D

    Comment by absolutelyvlc | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’m reading this waaayyyy after the fact, but it sure sounds like it was an interesting experience!

    Comment by Luludee | April 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

