Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

America’s Next Top Model

So, I’ve decided to go to the open casting call for America’s Next Top Model. I don’t think I’ll make it onto the show, but if I do, the goal is to get to be in the top 6 so that I can get a free trip abroad. The top 6 almost always get to go somewhere abroad (yes, I watch the show. Not religiously, but enough). Obviously winning would be a goal, but let’s not kid ourselves here, just making it into the semi-finals of getting onto the show will be hard enough. The main problem is the height restriction. To be eligible you have to be 5’7″ or taller, which I am not. However, the nomenclature is actually as follows:

(PLEASE NOTE:  You must be AT OR ABOVE five feet and seven inches [5’7”] in height to be
eligible, although Producers reserve the right to make case-by-case exceptions.  However, the
Producers are looking for a variety of models, including plus size models.)

So, while I am not quite 5’7″, perhaps I can make it into the “case-by-case exception”. One never knows!

Anyway, I did all the research on the casting and such, and the application is insane! I mean the questions it asks are so random. Describe your relationship with your mother. If you could hold any political office, what would it be and why? Have you ever been to a nude beach, if so what was it like?

Really?! Have I been to a nude beach? (Yes, I have. I lived in Spain for a little bit) Why do they need to know that? Is that supposed to tell them if I’m cool getting naked on screen? Somehow the two don’t correlate to me. Public exhibition and organized professional nudity are quite different in my opinion. Thoughts, anyone?

It also asks who my hero is. I’m considering putting Lady Gaga. (this is me laughing a lot). My answer would be: Lady GaGa because she defines post-modern feminism by mingling sexual ideals and fantasy with androgyny. She utilizes technology to create emotion, or lack thereof, raising the question of what the impact of technology and the internet has been on the post-modern female. Her approach is a definite attempt to show in a public platform the current state of feminine identity and struggle.

How’s that sound? I think it’s pretty killer. Just sayin’…  I also don’t really follow Lady GaGa at all, which is sort of the humorous part. One day I had an at length discussion about her representation of female identity.

Anyhow, I talked to my boyfriend about it and he’s ALL FOR IT (seriously he is, which is good since that’s also one of the questions). I also expressed my concern on the dates (we’re attending the World Cup after all) and he said, “Just go to the casting call. What’s the worst that can happen, they pick you? At the very least you’ll get a blog entry out of it.” Well, he didn’t realize I was definitely going to get at least 2 entries out of it!

See you at the Lloyd Center on April 10th! And remember, Be Fierce!

-Lorena

ps- one of the questions is who is your favorite super model and least favorite. So, does anyone know about supermodels? Any suggestions are helpful :)

March 23, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Oh Lorena,
    the questions asked cracked me up.
    They seriously ask that things?

    Supermodel fav: Brooke Shields (Chris Isaac – Wicked game. Need I say more?)
    Supermodel least fav: uhm Heidi Klum. I just don’t like her.

    JUST DO IT GIRL!
    B

    Comment by Bleriana | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. Lady Gaga FTW!!!

    Comment by Rachel B. | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. The only supermodel I know anything about it Tyra…and I wouldn’t suggest putting her as your least fav. On the height requirement, just be sure to stand really, really straight!

    Comment by Ang | March 24, 2010 | Reply

    • True that! I will be in heels of course, so that should help. I’m assuming they’ll make us do a runway walk during the audition.

      Comment by lorenagay | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. Funny, in my mind’s eye you are about 5’8-or-9″. Then again, in my mind’s eye you already ARE Kate. Srsly. I totes picture you when I’m reading her. Put it out there in the universe, and it shall be.

    Comment by absolutelyvlc | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. Least favourite: Naomi Campbell. If you don’t dislike her now, you will after reading this:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Naomi_Campbell#Legal_issues

    Comment by Matt | March 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my gosh! That’s insane!

      Comment by lorenagay | March 27, 2010 | Reply

  6. I second asbolutelyvlc. I also pictured you as being 5’8″ or 9″.
    And I’m going to have to disagree with Bleriana (sorry!). I love Heidi Klum. She’s a down-to-earth, hard-working, sophisticated woman who loves her family. She seems genuinely sweet and real, and not caught up in herself – ie not a diva (aka Naomi Campbell). I think she’s a great role-model.

    Good luck! Have fun at the casting call!

    Comment by Luludee | April 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

