Landing the Role of Kate

A chronicle of my actventures

That’s that.

So, I just returned from my final day of my acting class. When I went to it I didn’t even realize it was our last class. Very sad, actually. As part of today’s class, our teacher talked about life in acting. He said that a SAG actor averages about $5,000/year. A year. Really? I guess that’s believable. I mean, there’s just so many people to choose from. He went onto say that when he was living in LA he was having a crap year then a great year then a crap year etc. Always fluctuating. He said that someone asked him once, “Are you okay with this being as far as you go, this being your full career?” He said the question floored him, but his answer was yes.

My answer is no.

We knew that of course, I never wanted to go into acting, I just wanted to land the role of Kate. I’ve come to accept that that’s not going to happen. I mean, we knew it wouldn’t. I guess what I’m saying is that I’ve accepted that I’m going to give up on it. Bill Condon’s the director of Breaking Dawn parts 1 and 2. It’ll likely be cast in LA, which I have no chance in getting into that market, not that I’m even in the market up here. So, basically it’s just a lost goal. Which is fine.

I have my full time job now, which I really enjoy. The people I work with are great and the work is something I know how to do, and do well, and don’t mind doing. Pretty ideal. Plus it gives me time to do my creative writing, play water polo, and other assorted extra curriculars (thinking of taking up violin again), and the money to actually go places on weekends. And in a year I’ll have 2 weeks vacation (the US’s policies on vacation are so miserable).

I think I will still continue to act. If I was doing theater it’d be much easier, since rehearsal and performances generally happens at night, always being indoors and all. But not film or TV. Those are all day events randomly through the week. Never on weekends. Unless I’m working with people who have zero budget and jobs themselves. So… that’s what I’ll probably do. I prefer film to theater anyway. It’s more forgiving.

Question is, do I continue this blog? I know I’m acting in July in that crazy MoonPi film, and I definitely want to tell everyone about that experience. Plus I want to share the Majic Shiznit show episode 1 with everyone. Heh. I’ll be much less whorish looking in the full scene, don’t worry. But do you guys really care about my off and on acting if there’s no ultimate goal?

Let me know.

-Lorena

May 23, 2010 - Posted by | Observations | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Well I’d still like to hear about it :)

    Comment by Jayde | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. well, i’ve been checking this… and i would keep on doing so b/c now i’m “involved”, i’m sorry about “Kate”. bummer. but we all get it. i’m glad you’re happy w/ what you have going on right now, so that’s awesome. if you keep blogging i’ll keep reading!

    Comment by ambushed by twilight | May 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

